Hide It Under A Bushel? No!

I’m sure we’re all quite familiar with the children’s song that makes up my title, even without the rest of the lyrics. I grew up singing This Little Light of Mine at camp, VBS, and church, but who knew that as a young adult, it would still teach me an important truth?

Mark 16:15- He said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to all creation”

Matthew 28:19- Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.

2 Corinthians 2:14- But thanks be to God, who in Christ always leads us in triumphal procession, and through us spreads the fragrance of the knowledge of him everywhere.

All of those verses have something in common- they all talk about Christians sharing their faith to others. We aren’t made to hear God’s Word and keep it inside us, we are made to spread all we learn about God to everyone in every nation! (This is exactly what the children’s song is talking about!)

I am so guilty of this, though. I am the type of person who never wants to make anyone feel uncomfortable, and so I am never pushy about anything. If somebody has a differing opinion from me, chances are I won’t try and convince them that I have a valid opinion (unless, of course, I am quite friendly with the person, then I can argue their ear off ;)) But that’s just how I am. So when it comes to something as.. almost taboo, as religion and God, it’s no surprise that I really don’t try to spread God’s word to people who don’t want to receive it. I am not good at it at all. But I am really trying to change that part of me.

That being said, it is also quite true (and cliche, I know) that actions speak louder than words. By truly striving to live and love like Jesus, I know that non-believers will be drawn to that and notice a difference in me. I pray that He will use those times to allow me to be a witness to those people.

What about you? What do you find hardest about spreading God’s love? Do you hide it under a bushel, or let it shine?

Thoughts? Questions? Comments?

